21 Prayers for Teen Girls by Shelley Hitz and Heather Hart — A Review

Hemmed_in_with_prayer

“Being beautiful in Christ isn’t as easy as slapping on a layer of makeup in the morning or
making sure to pick up the right clothes when you’re at the mall–it takes commitment and
the help of Christ living within you. It’s not something that you can achieve on your own,
but it’s a beauty that surpasses any physical primping you could ever do.”

“Is anyone among you suffering? Then he must pray. Is anyone cheerful? He is to sing
praises.” James 5:13 (NASB)

Now that I look back to my teen years, I am amazed that I managed to get through that tough period of my life without the fortifying and encouraging material I’ve found in this book. I remember being desperate for something positive in my life. I was being so overwhelmed by attacks, whether they were from the inside or the outside, that I was convinced I must be a truly ugly person. The world works overtime to make us doubt ourselves. Since that’s only scratching the surface of bad influences on our hearts and minds, then it makes sense that we need to be diligent to pour into our minds a counterattack in the form of the truth we find in Scripture. How does God really view us
and feel about us?

21 prayers for teen girls image

If you are not sure what you should believe about yourself, this book will help you with that. The authors know what it is like to feel rejection, to experience peer pressure and doubts. They know what it is like to feel uncertain about the future and believe the lies others want you to believe about yourself. They take you through many prayers based on Bible verses that affirm how valuable you are and beautiful in God’s eyes. The prayers bring to our attention character qualities we may not have given any thought to before this. There is encouragement day by day, and prayer by prayer, for us to live out that value in our lives.

I don’t think you need to be a teenager to find this book encouraging. The prayers and verses directed my thoughts toward a loving, accepting God who wants a personal relationship with me. We all need that kind of reassurance and personal relationship. I highly recommend this book for anyone who would benefit from a focused guide that helps build positive thought habits in place of the negative ones we may have unintentional accepted for ourselves.

A complimentary review copy was provided to me by the authors and Body and Soul Publishing. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own.

Leave a Reply

