A June Bride: A Year of Wedding Novellas by Marybeth Whalen ~ Review ~

A June Bride: A Year of Wedding Novellas by Marybeth Whalen

A June Bride

Wynne didn’t think her broken-hearted confession in front of her best friend’s camera would lead to such a hectic situation–but it did. Picky entered that video into a bid for a spot on a reality based television show. The video went viral and Wynne became a celebrity on Rejection Connection, a dating show that paired recently jilted women with eligible bachelors. One thing led to another, and before she knew it, Andy had proposed and Wynne accepted. Now she was preparing for the ideal June wedding all paid by the show’s sponsors. She had chosen her favorite beach spot for the wedding’s setting.

Andy seemed to be perfect for her, but when her former fiance texted her and asked for one final moment together, her heart fluttered in excitement at seeing Callum again. Was she doing the right thing by marrying Andy so soon after her break up with Callum? She thought she was done with her former relationship, but seeing him brought on fresh doubts.

This novella was short enough that I was able to finish it in just a few hours. One of the things I liked about the story was how the author contrasted the main character, Wynne, with a supporting character, Meredith. Meredith was a winning contestant of another reality program who hailed from the same home town as Wynne. Meredith was all glitz and glamour as opposed to Wynne’s understated natural hometown personality. Meredith was driven by success and glitter while Wynne just wanted to get married and get on with life. Meredith played up for the camera while Wynne tried to be as honest and true to life as possible, even in front of an audience. The two were good foils for one another. I liked how the author used these differences to allow the reader to become better acquainted with the main character.

best things to give

The premise of becoming a game show winner was interesting although a bit predictable. Wynne’s dilemma was clearly presented from the beginning; the story was about her journey. However, I feel that for the reader to really get involved and care how Wynne arrives at some type of resolution, she needed to be fleshed out a bit more. Her relationship and engagement to two nice guys needed more definition. The men needed stronger personalities, as well, in order to distinguish between them, for the reader to root for one of them to win over her heart. Wynne came across to me as too indecisive and weak willed to be completely likable. I felt she needed more spunk or pizzazz to be memorable.

In spite of the flaws mentioned, the story was a good clean read. If you are looking for a quick and easy read, this is just the book for you.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received a complimentary review copy of this book from NetGalley on behalf of Zondervan Fiction. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Shop Amazon – Trade In with Three Easy Steps

Moore Family Films

click here for Emergen-C information

One thought on “A June Bride: A Year of Wedding Novellas by Marybeth Whalen ~ Review ~

  1. Dear All,
    I’m a first time Christian Author and I’m trying to get my book out to the Christian community. Listed below is information about my book. I’m asking for bloggers to review my book and post reviews on websites and amazon.com

    Title: You Cannot Find Peace Until You Find All The Pieces
     Author’s Name:Marie Maiden
     ISBN: 978-1-105-66126-6
     Number of review copies you are offering: pdf copy or Print Soft Cover
     Number of book giveaway copies you are offering & formats (if applicable)
     Genre: Christian, Historical, Inspirational
     Format(s) – Print Soft Cover
     Synopsis: My book is titled “You Cannot Find Peace Until You Find All The Pieces” It chronicles a search for my father, a man I desired to meet face-to-face. The searched lasted eighteen years. It led me to discover my ancestry, which provided the documentation that I needed to finally locate my father. I was able to find the plantation where my dead ancestors lived as slaves, brothers and a sister whom I didn’t know existed before I found my living father. This work also chronicles the role of God in my life and how my belief in Jesus Christ has transformed me and given me the strength to overcome a less than desirable childhood. The most consequential of these was a teenage pregnancy and my life as a teen mother.

    Thank you,
    Marie

    Like

Leave a Reply

